Hartpury RFC vs Ealing Trailfinders

14 - 33
Full Time


Date Time
August 21, 2015 2:30 pm

Match Report

Ealing Trailfinders made it two wins from two in their pre-season campaign as they held off a fired up Hartpury College side to run in five tries.

Nathan Buck grabbed a brace and Llewelyn Jones, Will Harries and captain Danny Kenny ran in the tries as Ben Ward’s side beat the students for the third time in 12 months after their home and away victories in National 1 last season.

Hartpury College lined-up with two ex-Ealing Trailfinders players in their side in the form of prop Tim Brockett and second row Steve Pape and it was the hosts who enjoyed the better of the opening 20 minutes, but despite enjoying the majority of the ball and territory, Ealing Trailfinders defence stood strong and held them out.

With 20 minutes on the clock the score was still 0-0, but soon after prop Buck popped up with two tries from Ealing Trailfinders first two attacks, using his power to go over on both occasions.

With Tristan Roberts converting both it put the visitors firmly in control of a match that appeared full within Hartpury College’s control.

The scoreline didn’t change up to halftime and after the break the match continued in the same vein with the two packs going hard at each other, but without making a breakthrough.

Again Ealing Trailfinders made the breakthrough with their forwards when Llewelyn Jones powered his way across the line and soon after fullback Will Harries found space to outpace the Hartpury defence.

Roberts ensured maximum points by converting them both, but Hartpury College eventually made the break through by scoring the next points. Their forwards forced Ealing Trailfinders’ defence to back-pedal and when they collapsed the subsequent maul the referee awarded a penalty try.

With less than 10 minutes on the clock Kenny stretched his legs to score in the corner, but the last word went to Hartpury College, who scored just before the final whistle after their forward pack once again flexed their collective muscles.

Ealing Trailfinders
Will Harries, Rhys Crane, Danny Barnes, Joe Munro, Phil Chesters, Tristan Roberts, Alex Walker; Jamie Kilbane, Rhys Lawrence, Nathan Buck, Carwyn Jones, Llewelyn Jones, Danny Kenny (captain), Iain Grieve, Chris York
Will Davis, Matt Thompson, Sam Rodman, Nathan Hannay, Harrison Orr, Arthur Ellis, Alex Bradley, Alex Davies, Sam Stanley, Toby Berridge, James Stephenson, James Love


Hartpury University