Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Trailfinders ready for Christmas cracker with Richmond

Ealing Trailfinders have named their squad for tomorrow’s local derby against Richmond at Vallis Way, with a strong side ready to take on their neighbours.

The West Londoners are aiming for their fifth consecutive win in all competitions as they head in to their final home match of 2017. There are 11 changes to the starting line-up from the side that defeated Rotherham Titans last Saturday in the British and Irish Cup.

Will Davis, Alun Walker and Mark Tampin start in a settled front-row, with Harry Casson and Barney Maddison in the second-row. A formidable looking back-row of Kieran Murphy, Rayn Smid and captain Mark Bright will give the supporters at Vallis Way plenty to be excited about. 

Luke Carter comes back in to the starting line-up at scrum-half, with Rory Clegg alongside at fly-half. Joe Munro and Piers O’Conor will occupy the midfield, and a back-three of Will Harries, Seb Stegmann and Luke Daniels will look to use any front-foot ball. 

James Gibbons, Lewis Thiede and last weekend’s Storm Man of the Match Rhys Lawrence offer a front-row alternative, while Llewelyn Jones and Morgan Allen cover the rest of the pack. 

Scrum-half Dan Grant Adamson could make his debut off the bench, becoming the second player from the academy to feature in the first team. Peter Lydon completes the match day squad and will aim to make an impact when called upon. 

Head Coach Alex Codling is looking forward to an exciting derby at Vallis Way.

“The boys have trained well this week off the back off a good fortnight in the B&I Cup. We know that we have to raise our performance as Richmond have done very well this year and will come with lots of confidence.”

Ealing Trailfinders team to play Richmond on Saturday 23rd December at 15:00:

15 Luke Daniels 14 Seb Stegmann 13 Piers O’Conor 12 Joe Munro 11 Will Harries 10 Rory Clegg 9 Luke Carter 1 Will Davis 2 Alun Walker 3 Mark Tampin 4 Harry Casson 5 Barney Maddison 6 Kieran Murphy 7 Rayn Smid 8 Mark Bright (c)


16 Rhys Lawrence 17 James Gibbons 18 Lewis Thiede 19 Llewelyn Jones 20 Morgan Allen 21 Dan Grant Adamson 22 Peter Lydon

Watch a match preview with Mark Tampin and Alex Codling below: