Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Trailfinders name team for cup clash at Clifton Lane

Ealing Trailfinders have named a strong side for the return of the British and Irish Cup ahead of tomorrow’s trip to face Rotherham Titans at Clifton Lane.

The starting line-up, which will be captained by Harry Casson features eight changes from the team that defeated Hartpury in the Greene King IPA Championship last Saturday, and the West Londoners will be aiming to strengthen their position in the pool with a win against the Titans.

James Gibbons, Alun Walker and Lewis Thiede start in the front-row with Harry Casson and Oli Curry in the second-row. Rayn Smid and Dan Temm are joined by Morgan Allen in the back-row, who makes his first start for the club in the number eight shirt. 

Grayson Hart and Rory Clegg will start as half-backs for the first time together in the Ealing shirt after previously occupying the same positions at Glasgow Warriors. 

Lewis Robling and Lewis Jones start in a new-look centre partnership with a back-three of Will Harries, Seb Stegmann and Luke Daniels.

Rhys Lawrence, Djustice Sears-Duru and Mark Tampin offer a front-row alternative on the bench, with Llewelyn Jones and Mark Bright covering the rest of the pack. Luke Carter will offer back-up at scrum-half, and Piers O’Conor completes the match day squad.

Director of Rugby Ben Ward has challenged his players to take control of the pool with a victory against the Titans.

“Each week is different and we have to adapt. Rotherham is a tough place to play and we had a difficult game against them earlier in the season but we have set our sights to do well in this competition and Saturday is an opportunity for us to lay down a marker.”

Ealing Trailfinders team to face Rotherham Titans on Saturday 9th December in the British and Irish Cup at Clifton Lane: 

15 Luke Daniels 14 Seb Stegmann 13 Lewis Jones 12 Lewis Robling 11 Will Harries 10 Rory Clegg 9 Grayson Hart 1 James Gibbons 2 Alun Walker 3 Lewis Thiede 4 Harry Casson (c) 5 Oli Curry 6 Rayn Smid 7 Dan Temm 8 Morgan Allen 


16 Rhys Lawrence 17 Djustice Sears-Duru 18 Mark Tampin 19 Llewelyn Jones 20 Mark Bright 21 Luke Carter 22 Piers O’Conor