Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Three changes for Ealing Trailfinders ahead of top of the table battle with Bedford

Ealing Trailfinders have made three changes to their starting line-up for tomorrow’s top of the table clash against Bedford Blues at Vallis Way.

Dan Temm will make his first start for the club at blindside flanker, whilst Luke Carter comes in at scrum-half and Miles Mantella features on the left wing. 

Ben Ward’s side head in to the match with two wins from two, but are up against a Bedford side who also have a 100% record from their season openers. 

Will Davis, Alun Walker and Mark Tampin continue their front-row partnership, with captain Glen Townson and Barney Maddison in the second-row. Dan Temm, Andrew Durutalo and Mark Bright operate in the back row of a pack that has just one alteration from the win over Richmond at the Athletic Ground.

Luke Carter comes in at scrum-half with Aaron Penberthy at fly-half, and an unchanged centre duo of Joe Munro and Piers O’Conor. Miles Mantella, James Cordy Redden and Peter Lydon start in an exciting back-three.

Matt Cornish will provide back-up at hooker, whilst front-rowers James Gibbons and Lewis Thiede will be looking to make their first appearances of the season from the bench. Llewelyn Jones and Rayn Smid cover the rest of the pack. 

Grayson Hart and Lewis Robling complete the match day squad and will look to make an impact to the back-line when called upon.

Captain Glen Townson knows that the West Londoners will need to step up their performance for the visit of Bedford.

“If we want to push on we’ve got to get more consistent with our performances. We’ve used two get out of jail free cards and Bedford have been impressive so we’re looking forward to an exciting challenge.”

Ealing Trailfinders team to play Bedford Blues at Vallis Way on Saturday 16th September at 15:00:

15 Peter Lydon 14 James Cordy Redden 13 Piers O’Conor 12 Joe Munro 11 Miles Mantella 10 Aaron Penberthy 9 Luke Carter 1 Will Davis 2 Alun Walker 3 Mark Tampin 4 Glen Townson (c) 5 Barney Maddison 6 Dan Temm 7 Andrew Durutalo 8 Mark Bright 


16 Matt Cornish 17 James Gibbons 18 Lewis Thiede 19 Llewelyn Jones 20 Rayn Smid 21 Grayson Hart 22 Lewis Robling