Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Luke Carter to make 50th appearance as Ealing Trailfinders welcome Hartpury to Vallis Way

Ealing Trailfinders have made seven changes to their starting line-up for tomorrow’s Greene King IPA Championship match at Vallis Way.

Luke Carter will make his 50th appearance for the club, and it comes just days after the news that he will remain with the club for the 2018/19 season.

Ben Ward has rung the changes after a disappointing display last weekend against Doncaster Knights, and they will be looking to get back to winning ways knowing that a victory will secure them second place in the Championship. 

There are three changes to the back-line whilst four of the alterations come up front as the West Londoners aim to mark their final home match in the league on a high. 

James Gibbons, Alun Walker and Mark Tampin in the front-row, with an all-changed second-row of Oli Curry and Llewelyn Jones. Dan Temm returns to the back-row and will provide plenty of energy alongside Rayn Smid and captain Kieran Murphy who moves to number eight. 

Luke Carter is joined by Shane O’Leary in the half-back slots, and Piers O’Conor comes back in to the 13 shirt next to Joe Munro at inside centre. A back-three of James Cordy Redden, Seb Stegmann and Luke Daniels will look to take advantage of any attacking opportunities.

Rhys Lawrence, Will Davis and Lewis Thiede provide a front-row alternative on the bench, with Ollie Stedman and Mark Bright covering the rest of the pack. Scrum-Half Dan Grant Adamson and Peter Lydon complete the match day squad. 

Head Coach Alex Codling has challenged his players to respond in a positive way when Hartpury come to London. 

“There’s a real focus on finishing the season strongly and we’ve dusted ourselves down ready to welcome a big test ahead of us on Saturday.”

Ealing Trailfinders team to play Hartpury at 15:00 on Saturday 14th April at Vallis Way:

15 Luke Daniels 14 Seb Stegmann 13 Piers O’Conor 12 Joe Munro 11 James Cordy Redden 10 Shane O’Leary 9 Luke Carter 1 James Gibbons 2 Alun Walker 3 Mark Tampin 4 Oli Curry 5 Llewelyn Jones 6 Dan Temm 7 Rayn Smid 8 Kieran Murphy (c)


16 Rhys Lawrence 17 Will Davis 18 Lewis Thiede 19 Ollie Stedman 20 Mark Bright 21 Dan Grant Adamson 22 Peter Lydon