Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Ealing Trailfinders ready for fourth meeting with Richmond as B&I Cup pool stages reach their climax

Ealing Trailfinders have named their side for tomorrow’s final British and Irish Cup Pool Match against Richmond at the Athletic Ground.

Ben Ward has made five changes to the starting line-up as they go in search of their sixth victory with a view to securing top seeding for the knockout stages. The win over Connacht last weekend ensured their passage through to the quarter finals where they will be at home at the end of March. 

James Gibbons and Alun Walker are joined by Mark Tampin who returns to the front-row, with Barney Maddison partnering captain Harry Casson who is back after a three-week lay-off in the second-row. Kieran Murphy and Rayn Smid continue as flankers, whilst Morgan Allen will start in the number eight shirt. 

Grayson Hart is back at scrum-half after a month on the sidelines, and partners Rory Clegg who continues at fly-half. Joe Munro and Lewis Jones operate in an unchanged midfield with James Cordy Redden, Will Harries and Luke Daniels starting in a dangerous back-three. 

Will Davis, Matt Cornish and Sam Rodman offer a front-row alternative, whilst Dan Temm and Mark Bright cover the rest of the pack from the bench. Dan Grant Adamson and Peter Lydon complete the match day squad for the trip over Kew Bridge.

In-form winger Will Harries is expecting another big test as the two teams meet for a fourth time this season: 

“Richmond showed in the game we played before Christmas what a dangerous side they can be and local derbies are never easy so we’ve got to replicate our recent performances to give us the best possible chance.”

Ealing Trailfinders team to play Richmond at 14:00 on Saturday 20th January at the Athletic Ground:

15 Luke Daniels 14 Will Harries 13 Lewis Jones 12 Joe Munro 11 James Cordy Redden 10 Rory Clegg 9 Grayson Hart 1 James Gibbons 2 Alun Walker 3 Mark Tampin 4 Barney Maddison 5 Harry Casson (c) 6 Kieran Murphy 7 Rayn Smid 8 Morgan Allen 


16 Matt Cornish 17 Will Davis 18 Sam Rodman 19 Dan Temm 20 Mark Bright 21 Dan Grant Adamson 22 Peter Lydon