Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Ealing Trailfinders make one change for local derby against Richmond

Director of Rugby Ben Ward has made one change to the starting line up for this weekend’s local derby against Richmond at the Athletic Ground.

The West Londoners made an impressive start to the season with a bonus-point victory over Cornish Pirates, and will be looking to make it two wins from two when they head over Kew Bridge on Saturday afternoon.

The only change comes in the back-line, with James Cordy-Redden replacing Will Harries on the right wing.

Will Davis, Alun Walker and Mark Tampin continue in the front-row, with captain Glen Townson and Barney Maddison in the second-row. Rayn Smid, Andrew Durutalo and Mark Bright feature in the back-row. 

Grayson Hart and Aaron Penberthy extend their half-back partnership, with Joe Munro and Piers O’Connor in the centre. 

Seb Stegmann who scored on his debut continues on the left wing, and James Cordy-Redden makes his first start of the season on the right wing with Peter Lydon at full-back.

The bench is unchanged with Matt Cornish, Djustice Sears Duru and Sam Rodman offering a front-row alternative, with Harry Casson and Dan Temm covering the rest of the forwards. Scrum-half Luke Carter and Lewis Robling complete the match day squad. 

Director of Rugby Ben Ward is expecting a fierce battle at the Athletic Ground. 

“Local derbies always have an edge to them and I’m sure Saturday will be no different. We played well in parts last weekend but we’re looking for a more complete performance and have to keep improving week-on-week.”

Ealing Trailfinders team to play Richmond at the Athletic Ground on Saturday 9th September at 15:00:

15 Peter Lydon 14 James Cordy-Redden 13 Piers O’Connor 12 Joe Munro 11 Seb Stegmann 10 Aaron Penberthy 9 Grayson Hart 1 Will Davis 2 Alun Walker 3 Mark Tampin 4 Glen Townson (c) 5 Barney Maddison 6 Rayn Smid 7 Andrew Durutalo 8 Mark Bright 


16 Matt Cornish 17 Djustice Sears Duru 18 Sam Rodman 19 Harry Casson 20 Dan Temm 21 Luke Carter 22 Lewis Rodling 

Watch a match preview with Ben Ward below: