Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Ealing Trailfinders looking to make positive start with strong side to take on Richmond

Ealing Trailfinders have named a strong line up as they look to get their British and Irish Cup campaign to a positive start against Richmond at Vallis Way tomorrow afternoon.

Ben Ward has made 12 changes to the starting line-up from the side that beat Jersey Reds in the Greene King IPA Championship last weekend, but with competition for places high throughout the squad the players will be looking to make a point in the cup opener. 

James Gibbons, Matt Cornish and Sam Rodman start in a refreshed front-row, with Harry Casson captaining the team alongside Oli Curry in the second-row. Rayn Smid, Arthur Ellis and Willie Ryan operate in the back-row. 

Grayson Hart returns to the starting line-up at scrum half, with Aaron Penberthy continuing in the fly-half shirt. Lewis Robling and Lewis Jones start in an exciting looking centre partnership, with Will Harries, James Cordy Redden and Luke Daniels making up the back-three. 

On the bench Alun Walker, Wasps loanee Alex Lundberg and Lewis Thiede provide strong front-row back up, with Llewelyn Jones covering the rest of the pack. 

Calum Waters continues to offer a scrum-half alternative, with Shane O’Leary looking to make his debut and the versatile Piers O’Conor completing the match day squad. 

Flanker Rayn Smid says the squad are focused on making a positive start to the Cup.

“We’re looking to lay down a marker and after reaching the semi-finals last year it gave us a taste to go further this time around.” 

He added: “Richmond have a very disruptive defence and we struggled to get anything going in our last match. We weren’t playing how we could perform so for us it’s about getting our game going and building on our recent displays.”

Ealing Trailfinders team to play Richmond in the British and Irish Cup at 15:00 on Saturday 14th October at Vallis Way:

15 Luke Daniels 14 James Cordy-Redden 13 Lewis Jones 12 Lewis Robling 11 Will Harries 10 Aaron Penberthy 9 Grayson Hart 1 James Gibbons 2 Matt Cornish 3 Sam Rodman 4 Harry Casson (c) 5 Oli Curry 6 Rayn Smid 7 Arthur Ellis 8 Willie Ryan


16 Alun Walker 17 Alex Lundberg 18 Lewis Thiede 19 Llewelyn Jones 20 Calum Waters 21 Shane O’Leary 22 Piers O’Conor