Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Club captain Walker leads departees

Alex Walker is one of a number of players who will be leaving Ealing Trailfinders at the end of the season, following three years with the club.

Walker moved to Ealing Trailfinders before the 2014-15 season and was instrumental as first-choice scrum-half in helping the team return to the Greene King IPA Championship. 

He then scored two tries in 22 appearances to help the team stay in the Championship and was rewarded for his performances by being named club captain at the start of the current campaign. 

Phil Chesters and Karl Gibson are also leaving after long careers at Vallis Way that twice featured them winning the National 1 title and also National 2. Adam Preocanin was also part of the team that won National 1 in 2012-13 and he also captained the side on their debut season in the Championship. 

“I would like to thank all the departing players for their contribution during their time at the club. It's always sad to say goodbye to players and they can all be proud of their contribution to a successful season this year,” Director of Rugby Ben Ward said. 

“There are a few players I must mention in particular. Long term servants Alex Bradley, Karl Gibson and Phil Chesters have been part of the furniture for a number of years and will be missed both on and off the pitch. 

“Alex Penny, Carwyn Jones and Alex Walker have been with the club for three years and were part of the team that won promotion from National 1. They have always made time for the supporters off the field and Alex Walker has also been club captain this year. 

“Finally, Chris York captained the team on numerous occasions last season in tough circumstances, but a season that ultimately finished with us staying in the Championship and led to us building on it this season. I would like to wish all of them the best of luck in the future.”

Departing Players
Ignacio Lancuba
Alex Penny
Karl Gibson
Adam Preocanin
Carwyn Jones
Tyler Bush
Chris York
Alex Bradley
Iain Grieve
Alex Walker
Josh Davies
Charlie Fatoma
Luke Peters
Phil Chesters
Rhys Crane
Seb Nagle Taylor